This website was created to celebrate the 2021 bicentenary of the outbreak of the Greek War of Independence in 21 Greek-British encounters, representing a wide range of activities, meant to reflect collaboration across London-based institutions and organisations and to engage broad audiences of non-specialists as well as specialists.

Our hope is that teams of scholars and institutions in other countries, too, will seek fellowships and collaborations to create a lasting legacy on the topic of 1821 and beyond.

2021 Steering Committee

Coordinator: Gonda Van Steen, Koraes Chair (KCL)

Roderick Beaton (KCL), Nikandros Bouras (KCL), Anastasia Christophilopoulou (Fitzwilliam Museum), Richard Clogg (Oxford), Charalambos Dendrinos (RHUL), Spyros Economides (LSE), Kevin Featherstone (LSE), Liana Giannakopoulou (Cambridge), Agatha Kalisperas (Hellenic Centre), John Kittmer (Anglo-Hellenic League), Julia Knights (Science Museum), Ioannis Manos (Advisor, National Bank of Greece), Paris Papamichos Chronakis (RHUL), Marios Psaras (Cyprus High Commission), Nick Salmon (BSA), Konstantinos Trimmis (Bristol)

The events are generously sponsored by the A.G. Leventis Foundation and are affiliated with the Protovoulia 1821-2021 (Advisor: Mr Ioannis Manos, National Bank of Greece). They represent a UK-based collaboration among The Hellenic Centre, The Anglo-Hellenic League, the Society for Modern Greek Studies, the Society for the Promotion of Hellenic Studies, the British School at Athens, the Hellenic Observatory at LSE, the Hellenic Institute at Royal Holloway, the Cambridge Centre for Greek Studies, the A.G. Leventis Visiting Professor at the University of Edinburgh, the University of Bristol, the Centre for Hellenic Studies at King’s College London, and many more contributing individuals (special thanks to Prof. Richard Clogg,  Dr Marios Psaras, CHC, and our supporters at the Greek Embassy’s Press Office).

Partners and Sponsors

%d bloggers like this: